25th May 2016

The First Minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones, announces new Welsh Government Cabinet and Ministers

Taking Wales Forward: The First Minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones, has announced his new Cabinet and Ministers as the Welsh Government begins its ambitious programme to build a united, connected and sustainable Wales.

The First Minister said:

“I am delighted to introduce the team who will be taking Wales forward over the next 5 years. They will have a central role to play in delivering our priorities and leading and directing the work of the Welsh Government on behalf of the people of Wales.

“As I said in my statement to the Assembly yesterday, this will be an open, inclusive, and transparent administration, ready to work with others where it is in the national interest.

“A critical 5 years lie ahead. My relentless focus, and that of my Cabinet and Ministers, will be on driving improvement in our economy and in the vital public services that the people of Wales rely on every day.

“I am confident this is the team with the talent, the vision and the ideas to deliver opportunity for all, and build a united, connected and sustainable Wales, now and for future generations.”

Cabinet and Ministers

  • Ken Skates
    Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Infrastructure
  • Vaughan Gething
    Cabinet Secretary for Health, Well-being and Sport
  • Mark Drakeford
    Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Local Government
  • Kirsty Williams
    Cabinet Secretary for Education
  • Lesley Griffiths
    Cabinet Secretary for Environment and Rural Affairs
  • Carl Sargeant
    Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Children
  • Jane Hutt
    Leader of the House and Chief Whip
  • Julie James
    Minister for Skills and Science
  • Alun Davies
    Minister for Lifelong Learning and Welsh Language
  • Rebecca Evans
    Minister for Social Services and Public Health